The frightening House of Monsters in Piazza Trinità dei Monti
In the historic center of Rome there is a singular building, the Zuccari palace. The building is also popularly known as the “House of Monsters” and owes its fame to the disturbing entrance door: a giant wide open mouth, with a nose, eyes and eyebrows. Find out why it was made this way. A particular decoration that also frames the two side windows. It was built by Federico Zuccari in 1952. It currently houses the Hertziana Library (Max Planck Institute for the history of art). The Palazzetto is located between via Sistina and via Gregoriana and on the latter road it has an entrance with decorations. Federico Zuccari was a famous artist and he decided to create a sumptuous home that reflected the artist’s importance, his flair and his creativity. In 1590 he bought the land and almost ruined himself almost to complete his grandiose projects, which had to be partially resized. Over the centuries it passed from hand to hand and then became the property of Enrichetta Hertz, who then donated it to the German government, establishing the Hertziana